

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TELEVISION ACADEMY FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES 38TH COLLEGE TELEVISION AWARDS NOMINEES

Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship Winners and Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Awardees also Announced

(NoHo Arts District, Calif. — March 23, 2017) — The Television Academy Foundation announced today the nominees for the 38th College Television Awards who will be honored in the Academy's Wolf Theatre at the Saban Media Center on Wednesday, May 24. The awards show will be available to view online via live stream at <u>TelevisionAcademy.com/CTA</u>.

Hunter March, producer, writer and TV personality of YouTube's AwesomenessTV, yesterday announced the nominees in two major College Television Awards categories – Best Drama and Best Comedy – to his social media audience. The complete list of nominees is posted online.

"Our goal with the CTA's is to honor the exceptional work of these diverse students and leverage our platform to spotlight the next generation of creators and executives in the television industry," said Madeline Di Nonno, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "We congratulate our nominees on their outstanding achievements and look forward to their continued successes."

In addition, winners of two special awards were announced: the Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship competition and the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Award. The Mister Rogers Scholarship is a project-based award and is underwritten by EY, a global leader in professional services. It is given to rising and graduating seniors and graduate students working on projects in children's media and pursuing a career that furthers the values and principles of Fred Rogers' work. The Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Award is presented in partnership with the Loreen Arbus Foundation to the student project that best portrays disability topics and issues. Winners of these awards will be presented at the May 24 College Television Awards.

The College Television Awards is a nationwide competition recognizing excellence in student work and spotlighting an inclusive group of talented storytellers and content creators who aspire to careers in the entertainment industry. All nominees and pre-announced award-winners attend a two-day television summit prior to the awards, featuring a hands-on professional development experience and access to many of the industry's top executives and innovators. They also become Television

Academy Foundation alumni and are able to network and benefit from ongoing programs and offerings.

The 38th College Television Awards list of nominees include:

Animation

Taijitu Dylan Hoffman Brigham Young University

Unmasked Christina Faraj and Alice Gavish School of Visual Arts

The Wishgranter Kal Athannassov Ringling College of Art and Design School of Visual Arts

Children's Programming

A Taylor Story Becky Prolman, Camille Houphouet-Boigny Chapman University

The Monkey King is in Town Shamola Kharkar **Chapman University**

Pick Your Own Amanda Domuracki, Andrew Fewsmith, Wes Palmer, Luke Shields **Boston University**

Comedy

Dollar King Trevor Smith **American Film Institute**

Magic Mouse Annie Bravo, Austin Brown Full Sail University

Commercial

The Aussie Bean 30 Second Spot Noah Rashba Chapman University

Lost Chocolate: A Skateboard Story Caleb Heller, Jane Hollon, Andrew Pollins American Film Institute

The Plumber Yoni Klein, Andrew Pollins **American Film Institute**

Directing For Drama

ERNIE Hadley Hillel Chapman University

It's Just a Gun Brian Robau **Chapman University**

The Other Side Daniel Abatan American Film Institute

<u>Drama</u>

DeKalb Elementary Reed Van Dyk University of California, Los Angeles

Snowplow Joshua Valle American Film Institute

Viola, Franca Marta Savina University of California, Los Angeles

Individual Achievement in Newscast

Head Games Erika Orstad University of Miami

Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability

Slow Angels Ying Lu New York University

<u>Mister Rogers Memorial</u> Scholarship

Estefania de la Chica Development **Columbia University**

Kevin Wong Research **New York University**

Music Composition

For Old Time's Sake Robert Mai Chapman University

Icarus Ryan Stratton Chapman University

Parchment Wings Benjamin Hoff University of North Carolina - School of the Arts of Filmmaking

Newscasts

Carolina Week - April 13, 2016 McKenzie Bennett University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

WUFT News First at Five: September 2, 2016 Dani Hurtado, Ryan Roberts University of Florida

WVU News "Special Edition" Heroin and Opioids: When Addiction Hits Home Megan Saporito West Virginia University

Series-Scripted

The Buzz Shasta Ford Matt Nickley Savannah College of Art and Design

CON Audrey Emerson Jen Enfield-Kane Joelle Jacoby Jenn Kuan Noah Suarez-Sikes Amy Suto **University of Southern California**

SANITY Cecilia Albertini Helga Bryndis-Ernudottir Allison Hartel, Andrea Massaro Will McCance Linda Riedman Junyi Zhang **University of California, Los Angeles**

Series-Unscripted

Learn to Count in an Endangered Language Eli LaBan **Temple University**

MCBCtv Brad Parsons Central Michigan University

Show-Me Chefs Chelsea Eichholz Ryan Gilyard Daan Jansen **Missouri State University**

<u>Variety</u>

2016 University of Florida Homecoming Parade Pre-Show Danielle Frew Jack Kramer **University of Florida**

Brooklyn's Best Amina Ebada Michael Irgang Kevin Keating Salomeya Lomidze Jeremy Norris Michael Zhonga **The City University of New York -Brooklyn College**

Routes TV-Oklahoma: The Natural Disaster State Trevor Slack **University of Oklahoma**

Writing for Comedy

The Buzz Matt Nickley Savannah College of Art and Design

Dollar King David Brent American Film Institute

Trying to Fuck: A Modern Day Romance Matt Gibson **Chapman University**

Writing For Drama

LOCKDOWN Daisygreen Stenhouse American Film Institute

NO WAY BACK Michael Kongshaug Eileen Shim American Film Institute

Snowplow Christopher Greenslate

About the Television Academy Foundation

Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs such as the <u>Archive of American Television</u>, <u>College Television</u> <u>Awards</u> and <u>Student Internship Program</u>, the foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the foundation, please visit <u>TelevisionAcademy.com/Foundation</u>.

#

For coverage contact: Stephanie Goodell breakwhitelight for the Television Academy stephanie@breakwhitelight.com 818-462-1150

Mia Niebruegge American Film Institute