

**PRESS RELEASE** 

## **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

# TELEVISION ACADEMY FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES NOMINEES FOR 39<sup>TH</sup> COLLEGE TELEVISION AWARDS

## Student Productions from Colleges Nationwide Vie for Top Honors in Television's Most Prestigious Student Competition

(**NoHo Arts District, Calif., Jan. 14, 2019**) – The Television Academy Foundation today announced nominees for the *39*<sup>th</sup> *College Television Awards* which recognizes and rewards excellence in student-produced programs.

"Television's most prestigious student competition has been enhanced for 2019. Redefined categories reflect the serialized nature of television and an expanded professional development summit offers students the opportunity to visit and engage with top entertainment studios and network with industry professionals," said Madeline Di Nonno, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "Our goal with the *College Television Awards* is to honor exceptional student work and leverage our platform to highlight the next generation of creators and executives within the industry. Congratulations to all the nominees!"

The 25 nominees were selected from over 600 productions submitted by 174 colleges and universities nationwide. Designed to emulate the Emmys®, the student entries are judged online by active Television Academy members. Television stars will present top honors to students at the awards ceremony on Saturday, March 16, 2019, at the Television Academy's Saban Media Center in North Hollywood, California, where each winning project will receive a \$3000 cash prize.

Three student-produced projects were nominated in each of eight categories: drama, comedy, animation, nonfiction, promotional, news, sports, and variety. One winner will be announced in each category. In addition, the *College Television Awards* announced the awardee for the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship, which recognizes a student-produced project that best portrays disability topics and issues, or helps emerging artists with a disability gain recognition.

Tickets for the *39<sup>th</sup> College Television Awards* will be available for purchase beginning February 21, 2019, at <u>TelevisionAcademy.com/RSVP-CTA</u>. Tickets are \$50 for adults and \$25 for students with ID.

The nominees for the *39<sup>th</sup> College Television Awards*, representing 17 colleges and universities, are listed below:

#### **Animation Series:**

In a Heartbeat (Ringling College of Art & Design) Beth David, Producer Esteban Bravo, Director, Writer

**The Rose Garden** (Ringling College of Art & Design) Nina Gerstenhaber, Producer, Director, Writer

**The Wishing Cranes** (Ringling College of Art & Design) Thomas Anderholm, Producer, Director, Writer

#### **Comedy Series:**

**Everything's Fine: A Panic Attack in D Majo**r (Columbia University) Taylor Ortega, Producer Zack Morrison, Director, Writer

**Pickle** (Chapman University) Peter Henckel, Producer Grant Moore, Director, Writer

**Tree #3** (American Film Institute) Iris Xuan Yang, Producer Syndney Meadow, Writer Omer Ben Shachar, Director, Writer

#### **Drama Series:**

**Baby I'm Yours** (Chapman University) Marisa Messina, Producer Hadley Hillel, Director, Writer Noah Feinberg, Writer

**Esta es tu Cuba** (Chapman University) John Sayage, Producer Brian Robau, Director Daniel Klein, Writer

## **Neemkomok'** (American Film Institute)

Shanshan Sun, Producer Douglas Cushnie, Director, Writer

#### **Nonfiction or Reality Series:**

#### Fear Builds Walls (ArtCenter College of Design)

Charlie McCarthy, Producer Rudy Gold, Director, Writer

## **Native Voices: The Struggle for Life and Land** (American University)

Kent Wagner, Producer, Director, Writer

#### **Out of the Pills** (Ithaca College)

Eric Barr, Producer Casey McCracken, Producer, Director Rebecca van der Meulen, Producer Christian Schuepbach, Writer Megan Trapani, Writer

#### **Variety:**

## The 37<sup>th</sup> Annual EVVY Awards (Emerson College)

Victoria Bartkavage, Producer Amelia Channin, Producer Gemma Guerrazzi, Producer Mateo Solis, Producer Tristan Flanagan, Director Samantha Yates, Writer Joe Zappulla, Writer

#### **The Blackout's Quarter Update** (Northwestern University)

Peter Condie, Producer Noah Frick-Alofs, Producer Kathryn Karnaze, Producer Max Kliman, Producer Willa Barnett, Director Ryder Chasin, Director Grace Dowling, Director Charlie Heveran, Director Jake Daniels, Writer Alex Fecteau, Writer

#### **SCADurday Night Live** (Savannah College of Art and Design)

Nick Golden, Producer Carson MacKenzie Smith, Producer Lexy Pazul, Director Ana Bernot-Reilly, Writer Katie Beyoglides, Writer Joe Casper, Writer Ellis Cox-McAllister, Writer Courtney Fortner, Writer Cynea Gamble, Writer Karlie Kyser, Writer Viktor Rodriguez, Writer Loic Suberville, Writer Cannon Wise, Writer Nilufer Yuce, Writer

#### **Commercial, PSA or Promo:**

## **GE - One More Giant Leap** (Brigham Young University)

Jason Murray, Producer Jedediah Thunell, Director Anthon Chase Johnson, Writer

## **Pests Do Not Mess with the Orkin Man** (Brigham Young University)

Chris Petersen, Producer, Director, Writer Seth Mollerup, Director, Writer Bentley Rawle, Director

Weird (Savannah College of Art and Design)

Maegan Mann, Producer Demi Waldron, Producer Olivia O'Hara, Director Mason Douglass, Writer

#### **News:**

#### **Cronkite News** (Arizona State University)

Hayley Brand, Producer
Azucena Martinez, Producer
Ben Jacobs, Director
Terra Pinckley, Director
Kevyn Gessner, Writer

#### Montclair News Lab: Hurricane Recover Mission to Puerto Rico (Montclair

State University)
Natalie De La Rosa, Producer
Mariano Arocho, Producer, Director, Writer
Laura Galarza, Producer, Director, Writer
Babee Garcia, Producer, Director, Writer
Madison Glassman, Producer, Director, Writer
Genesis Obando, Producer, Director, Writer

Madijuene Traore, Producer, Director, Writer

#### **UM-TV Newsvision: Tragedy in Parkland** (University of Miami)

Kelly Saberi, Producer Rebekah Chung, Producer, Writer Amanda Herrera, Producer, Writer Aaron Agrasanchez, Director

#### **Sports:**

## Molloy Volleyball: A Cinderella Story (Molloy College)

Matthew Considine, Producer, Director, Writer

## Sooner Sports Pad: Fall '17 Debut Show (University of Oklahoma)

Matthew Welsh, Producer Torii Bicondova, Director

## Sports Desk (University of Miami)

Luis Gonzalez, Producer Valerie Ferrante, Producer Amanda Fuentes, Producer Amanda Herrera, Director Isaiah Kim-Martinez, Writer Jihad Shatara, Writer

#### **Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship Winner:**

**Woman of Steel** (Florida State University) Chris Violette, Producer, Director, Writer

#### **About the Television Academy Foundation**

###

## **Media Contact:**

Jane Sparango

breakwhitelight (For the Television Academy)
jane@breakwhitelight.com
310-339-1214